VW TDI CUP – Rookies to Racers Mini Series Airs on Discovery TV

By: APR | 04/01/2011 < Back to Blog Home

APR Motorsport Drivers Kevin Gleason, Ryan Ellis and Josh Hurley Featured on Saturday’s Broadcast at 7PM EST During the Series Premier

vw-jetta-tdicup-logoRookies to Racers is the insiders documentary to the VW TDI Cup ladder series produced by Volkswagen of America. The VW TDI Cup has spawned a slew of professional drivers who have gone on to start their careers in professional motorsport with teams like APR Motorsport in GRAND-AM.

APR Motorsport salutes VW for putting together such an awesome opportunity for up and coming drivers around VW’s Jetta TDI. The experience gained through the coaching and development program organized and managed by Clark Campbell of VWoA has helped to launch such raw talents as Josh Hurley, Kevin Gleason and Ryan Ellis into professional motorsport where all three have thrived quickly in their short careers.

Josh Hurley was the inaugural TDI Cup Champion in 2008 and went on to win the MESCO Rookie of the Year Award in the Koni Challenge of GRAND-AM Road Racing with APR Motorsport in 2009. Josh drove APR Motorsport’s VW GTI’s to an incredible 8 podiums and 1 win in the 2009 and 2010 series. In 2011, Josh’s career progressed further by moving into APR Motorsport’s Audi S4 in the GS Class of the Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge.

Kevin Gleason entered professional motorsport with APR in their #181 GTi MK6 and has shown incredible speed with a 4th place finish in his second pro race at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Kevin drives with his brother, Chris Gleason in GRAND-AM’s CTSCC. Kevin finished the 2010 VW TDI Cup Season in 6th place after a wild battle for the points championship at the end of the season. Kevin won the Most Improved Driver Award after finding championship pace half way through the season and achieved 1 Pole Position and 2 Podiums in the 2010 VW TDI Cup Series.

The series opener will focus heavily on Ryan Ellis who races this year in the CTSCC in APR Motorsport’s #171 GTI MK6 which is currently leading the championship points race. Ryan won the first two races in the VW TDI Cup 2010 Season and went on to repeat that with APR by winning the first two races of the CTSCC 2011 Season. Ryan has proven his abilities very quickly in each series and APR Motorsport looks forward to a successful remainder of the season with Ryan and his co-driver, APR Motorsport mainstay, Ian Baas.

Don’t miss the TDI Cup action this Saturday, April 2nd at 7pm EST on the Discovery Channel.

To follow Kevin, Ryan and Josh’s careers with APR Motorsport, please visit www.aprmotorsport.com for all of the info as Kevin, Ryan and Josh battle for the Championship in both the ST and GS classes of GRAND-AM’s CTSCC.

Current Articles